Anthony Cheung

Honourary Advisor

Anthony Cheung Bing-leung, GBS, JP is a Hong Kong politician and academic. He was the Secretary for Transport and Housing from 2012 to 2017. He is currently the Research Chair Professor of Public Administration with the Department of Asian and Policy Studies (APS) of the Faculty of Liberal Arts.

From 2008 to 2012, Professor Anthony Cheung was President of The Hong Kong Institute of Education (HKIEd), the predecessor of EdUHK.

Professor Cheung graduated from The University of Hong Kong in 1974 with a Bachelor degree in Sociology and Economics. He later obtained a MSc in Public Sector Management from the University of Aston, the UK, and PhD in Government from the London School of Economics and Political Science, the UK. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science by Aston University in 2016 and an Honorary Doctorate of Education by EdUHK in 2017.

Professor Cheung joined the civil service in the 1970s. In 1986, he commenced his academic career in the Department of Public and Social Administration of City University of Hong Kong (then City Polytechnic of Hong Kong), where he subsequently became Professor and Head of Department.

Professor Cheung co-founded the Asian Association of Public Administration in 2010 and had been its president. His research focused on governance, administrative reforms and public administration, producing over 110 journal articles and book chapters, as well as 16 authored/edited books. 

Professor Cheung has been active in community and public service, having held major positions including: Non-Official Member of the Executive Council (2005-2012); Chairman of the Consumer Council (2007-2012); Chairman of the Pay Trend Survey Committee (2007); Board member of Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation (2007-17); and Member of the Legislative Council and Chairman of its Education Panel (1995-1997). Since November 2017 he has been appointed Chairman of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, Member of the Education Commission and University Grants Committee. He also chairs a government task force to review self-financing post-secondary education in 2017-18.